Sprinkler Doc

The Blogging Plumber from Boise

Frozen Anti-Siphon Valve

Posted by Retired Geezer on May 22, 2006

I'm getting a few jobs, repairing ice damage from this winter.

Do you see the two cracks?

Frozen water can generate tremendous pressure.

It's much cheaper to get your system properly Winterized, than to repair the damage in the Spring.

4 Responses to “Frozen Anti-Siphon Valve”

  1. Mike Bamford said

    Mr. Gezzer,

    I’m working on fixing up an existing system in a house we just bought, and need to replace that same valve in your picture above. It’s not available at the local Lowes, Home Depot, …

    Any thoughs on where they’d be easier to acquire, or repair parts. It’s only the bridge that holds the spring in the plastic cap that’s broken.

    Thanks

  2. I think you might be able to get a similar anti-siphon valve that is made by Orbit.
    Where do you live?

  3. Mike B. said

    I’m on the east side of Detroit.

    I found a web sight that had the plastic bonnett replacement kit for a Watts 800—- with new springs, and an O’ring on the web, shortly after posting my question yesterday. $30 seems a bit steep for a little bit of thermo set plastic, and a spring, but…. At least it’s less expensive than having to replace the whole thing. Now I’m just looking around here to see if I can find one in a plumbing supply, or lawn/sprinkler shop. I’ll go through the web if I can’t find it locally. That will make the bride happy, but for now the old fashioned hose and oscelating sprinkler are working just fine. 😉

    I’ll let you know how it works out.

    Thanks.

    Best Regards
    Mike B.

  4. helijemi said

    Thank you for help me…
    Single Pole Grounded Switch White

Leave a Reply

 
